RSS Feed

Vegan Life: Day 9

October 5 2014

It was a lazy Sunday today. I had to write a review about the burlesque show I watched last night. I decided to make a mango smoothie. I used a recipe from the 21-day challenge recipes. I added a banana to make it more consistent. It was good and sweet. My mother enjoyed the smoothie. She’s going to start making smoothies now to hopefully lose weight. She’s hilarious!

IMG_2271

Smoothie ingredients

IMG_2272

Breakfast: mango banana smoothie

I made marinated chick peas from one of the 21-day challenge recipes. It’s a side dish that can be added to salads, pasta and other meals. I can also make homemade hummus by adding tahini. It’s an ingredient I have yet to buy but really want. It turned out good and was okay to eat by itself as a snack.

IMG_2275

Side dish: marinated chick peas

I made a mistake with tofu. I cooked soft tofu instead of firm tofu. The results were not the same. I guess soft tofu is better for desserts. Thus, I didn’t do the tofu sauté with curry I wanted to try. I made the Thai style tempeh that I made last week. The can of coconut milk was already open and I didn’t want to waste it. This time, I was able to put sweet potatoes like the recipe suggests. It tasted nicer and was more filling.

IMG_2276

Dinner: basmati rice with tempeh and chick peas

I didn’t have time to do other recipes or half the chores I had to do. I did bake some spaghetti squash and will try to make something tomorrow after work in between finishing assignments.

Leave a Reply

