RSS Feed

Apéros de quartier

Posted on

Apéritif à la française celebrates its 11-year anniversary by hosting four aperitifs across Montreal and Quebec named Apéros de quartier for the second time. An aperitif is an alcoholic drink that you enjoy before your meal as an appetizer, from the French culture. These aperitifs are from 6 to 8:30pm in restos-bars in different neighbourhoods.

I had the chance to attend one of the Apéros de quartier at Voro in the Mile-End on July 16th. Zoya accompanied me and we felt like VIP. (Thanks again NA!)

IMG_2714

For 30 dollars, you have a main dish, a special drink and two drinks. The dish and drinks are specific kinds. You have other options for the main dish but it will cost 10 dollars. The same goes for drinks that cost 5 dollars.

IMG_2724

St-Rémy à la crème on ice

PIneau des charentes aka pineau colada

PIneau des charentes aka pineau colada

IMG_2716

Hennessy ginger ale

The main dish was a spinach stuffed salmon crust with artichoke sauce and white wine. However, Zoya and I are not fan of salmon so we didn’t hesitate paying 10 dollars to try something different. We ordered a dauphinoise with merguez, ratatouille and artichoke sauce. It was a special mix with a poached egg, very creamy and various flavours. Zoya wasn’t such a fan but I thought it was good and different. The cusine reflects the French culture, which goes with the theme. There was also a vegetarian option.

IMG_2721

A little treat that every guest received, which made me very happy. I love French biscuits, especially of the St-Michel brand.

IMG_2725

I definitely recommend this event to everyone, you get to experience and discover a part of French culture. The drinks and meals are inspired from France. You also have a fun atmosphere with a DJ playing a nice mix. You  also get to dress up and look like a million bucks. Also there’s many photographers to capture your wonderful look.

The last one is on July 30th at Pandore, a restaurant on the last floor of Le 2-22 Sainte-Catherine. The view will probably be breathtaking and the weather is gonna be sunny. I don’t think I will be going again, I would love too, as it’s going to be lots of fun!

p.s. My pictures aren’t amazing because I used my cellphone, as I forgot my camera home.

Leave a Reply

