RSS Feed

Les Folies

Posted on

It was a warm summer day when Em and I tried a new place for brunch. Just 2 minutes from the Mont-Royal metro. We arrived and after hesitating, sat on the terrace because it was a perfect sunny day.

Em chose Incontournables which consisted of a plate of 2 eggs, homemade potatoes, grilled bread, fresh fruits and a choice of meat, she chose bacon. Unfortunately, I forgot to take a picture of her meal but it looked like mine minus half my plate and she chose mirror eggs.

I chose La Folie which consisted of a plate of 2 eggs, bacon, ham, sausages, crepes, swiss cheese, beans, potatoes, grilled bread and some fresh fruits. I had my eggs scrambled as usual. The meats were all good, especially the ham. The beans were delicious and it was a good idea to put them in a small bowl with all of its sauce, delicious. I loved that the potatoes were big chunky pieces, different than the small pieces you find in the conventional brunch places. The swiss cheese was simply divine, it was soft and chewy, not the bad quality cheese such as the ones found in Subway. I was surprised that cheese was included in my meal, as it usually costs an extra. The crepes were yellow to our biggest surprise. We weren’t sure if it would actually taste good, but it did. The flour used was different; I think it was sarrasin because it tasted healthier than most crepes. I appreciated the skewer of fresh fruits, cute and refreshing.

Em helped me finish my plate, which undoubtedly left my stomach completely satiated. Service wasn’t that bad, but it was a bit slow probably due to the fact that it was very busy. While we were digesting, a weird guy sat near us and only ordered coffee, a bit sketchy, thankfully we left shortly after.

The restaurant looks small but we haven’t gone in as we were called by the warmth of the terrace bustling with activity on Mont-Royal Street. It gets a 7.5/10. I didn’t like the fact we had to wait before getting water even if it’s busy. On a hot day, it’s easy to get dehydrated and no one wants that. Prices vary between 15 and 20 dollars… They have interesting cocktails where you can add rum or vodka but we thought 10am was too early to have a drink (aka Em). Most people there were friends, I don’t recall seeing a single couple, but you could fix the tables for a large group or just 2 people.

Les Folies

701 Mont-Royal East, Montreal, QC

H2J 1W7 514-528-4343

Folies de Montréal on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

