RSS Feed

Dev

During the last week of august, I was a leader during frosh. A crazy week with a bunch of activities for first year students. The leaders had a meeting the weekend before. Liv, Gab, Cedric and I were hungry after the meeting and we drove away without a specific restaurant in mind. We were mentionning different kinds of food until Indian was mentionned and I suggested going to Dev, which was close by.

I ordered a plate of vegetable samosas and after they arrived, looking as delicious as always, the others ordered some too. The guys had one each, while Liv and I had two each. There’s 2 samosas by plate and they’re filled with potato, green peas and Indian spices. You get 3 different sauces with them. The first is known as imli ki chutney, made with tamarind and cumin, it tastes very sweet. The second is known as pudina chuntey, made with mint , herbs and spices, it tastes slightly sour and acid. The third is pieces of carrots with some spices, it tastes very spicy. I love all of them but if I had to pick a favourite, it’d be the first one.

  

Liv and I ordered mango lassi while Gab ordered the punjabi lassi, which is the regular one, a yogurt based drink. I tasted his which was sweeter than I imagined but I still think mango is better.

We all had butter chicken except Cedric who had chicken korma which looked just like ours. I didn’t take a picture of his plate though. The first thing I had when I first went to Dev was butter chicken and it’s really hard to choose anything else. I have tasted other meals but this one remains the best in my eyes. The buttery taste is to die for with the tender pieces of chicken in the sauce. I dip the naan in the sauce and grab a piece of chicken and savour the tastes as long as I can. I only did it for the first two bites as I was starving.

Everyone ordered garlic naan, except I who sticked with the classic. I love naan, they are warm, fluffy and crispy at the same time. I never bother ordering rice. They bought cost an extra between 2 and 5 dollars.

 

I didn’t finish my meal surprisingly! It’s probably due to a food poisoning I had the previous day at a co-worker’s dinner party. Though the 2 samosas filled both Liv and I who asked for doggy bags.

Dev is my favorite Indian restaurant with a low budget. I remember the first time I went there, it was as if I was transported back in my childhood in New Delhi, eating real and good Indian food. Any reason is good for Dev. I celebrated my 19th birthday there and it was the most pleasant experience I’ve had at a restaurant. Everybody loved it! Also, you can ask for your food to be either mild, medium or spicy. There are vegetarian meals as well. Can I give it a perfect mark? Of course I can and it gets a 10. The service is always good and fast. It’s very cheap, it cost just under 20 dollars with taxes for an appetizer, a main dish, a drink and a kulfi. What’s a kulfi? It’s a frozen dairy dessert, I took strawberry flavoured while Gab had the coconut one (didn’t take any pictures, sorry).  You can also order for take-out, my sister and I have done that countless times until the Indian restaurant near our area opened last year, which I’ll be reviewing hopefullly by the holidays.

Order a limca if you get the chance, it’s a lime soft drink I used to drink back in India. I’m pretty sure my eyes were teary when I saw them at Dev.

Dev

5997 Victoria, Montreal, QC

 H3W 2R9 514-733-5353

Restaurant Dev on Urbanspoon

About favetastes

My name is Nicole Yeba and I am in my third-year of journalism studies at Concordia University. I have always been interested in arts and culture. In newspapers and magazines, I used to read the arts and culture section first. I started a food blog three years ago in the hopes of improving my writing skills and to have experience as a cultural journalist.

One response »

  1. You could certainly see your enthusiasm within the work you write. The world hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. At all times go after your heart.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

